PwC UK Warns About ESTA Scam

Business Travel News, 5/22/2009

PricewaterhouseCoopers UK has warned its travel bookers and travelers to steer clear of a commercial Web site that makes Electronic System for Travel Authorization applications on behalf of visitors to the United States. The Web site, www.estauk.com, looks official but has no connection with the U.S. government and charges $45 for the service, even though U.S.-bound visitors can apply directly online for the authorization for free.

In an internal memo, the PwC UK travel team said it has barred access to the unofficial site, but warned: "It may figure highly on an Internet search engine if somebody tries to do an ESTA-related search independently of HRG," which PwC UK retains as its travel management company. "Applications by travelers and travel bookers should be made online only by visiting the official ESTA Web site on https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov. This is included on all relevant HRG itineraries."

A Google search for "ESTA" reveals a similar prominently displayed unofficial Web site with the address www.esta-online.co.uk. A spokesman for the U.S. embassy in London said it is well aware of the sites but is unable to shut them down. "We can't do anything about them because in many cases they are providing the service they charge for. The U.S. flag, which appears on their images, is not copyrighted. Is it ethical? You be the judge of that."

The spokesman confirmed the unofficial Web sites provide no value beyond what travelers can obtain for themselves when applying directly for ESTA authorization. They do not expedite the granting of approval to travel.

Applying for ESTA authorization became mandatory on Jan. 12 for all travelers hoping to enter the United States under its Visa Waiver Program. The U.S. embassy said that 99.6 percent of U.K. passport holders receive online approval to travel within four seconds of submitting their applications. The ".gov" suffix is used in all official U.S. government Web site addresses.